Finish this sentence: ‘Click it or …’
Did you say, ‘… ticket’?
We have all seen and heard the public awareness campaigns on television, the radio, billboards and those portable electronic safety signs on the side of the road, warning commuters to wear a seat belt.
If you don’t wear a seat belt, you will be ticketed by law enforcement. You may know the campaign, but do you know the law? Who is required to wear a seat belt and what is the penalty for failing to do so?
New Jersey requires drivers and all passengers, regardless of age, to wear seat belts. Children younger than 8 years of age who are 57 inches or shorter are required to be secured in a rear or front-facing child seat with a five-point harness, or a belt-positioning booster seat.
Drivers are responsible for proper seat belt use of all occupants of a vehicle who are under the age of 18. The fine for violating New Jersey’s seat belt law is $46.
Do you have a question about seat belt laws, or how other car safety features may make you eligible for a discount on your car insurance? Give our agency a call. We’ll be happy to review your auto insurance policy with you.